Saturday, May 20, 2017

Javier Perianes Plays Mompou

Catalan composer Federico Mompou wrote four volumes of brief, aphoristic piano pieces called Música callada, or Music of silence, between 1959 and 1967. He seemed to inhabit a musical world of his own, indifferent or hostile to many of the conventions of western music, particularly Germanic music, which he described as "phonorrhea," with an excess of padding, ponderous development, and numbing redundancies. His aesthetic is similar in some ways to Satie's, and their works have some similarities, particularly the use of a simple, but unconventional tonal language that is not shy of dissonance. Mompou's music is notable for the simplicity and clarity of its content and its expression — there are no wasted or unnecessary notes. It is almost all very quiet music and has a rhythmic fluidity that often obscures a sense of pulse. As a child, the composer grew up near his grandfather's bell factory, and he traced his musical aesthetic to the experience of hearing the bells. Many of the sonorities in Música callada can indeed best be described as bell-like. Spanish pianist Javier Perianes plays with an unmannered delicacy and a self-effacing directness that honor the ephemeral character of these pieces and allows their poetry to blossom. The sound is absolutely clear and captures the intimacy of the music.
Stephen Eddins

Source :

Javier Perianes
Frederic Mompou


Música Callada
28 Pieces for piano in 4 books

[Book I]
1 Angelico  2:07
2 Lent  1:24
3 Placide  1:45
4 Afflitto e penoso  2:43
5 quarter note = 54  2:03
6 Lento - molto cantabile  2:29
7 Lento  3:09
8 Semplice  0:48

[Book 2]
9 Lento  2:41
10 Lento - cantabile  1:28
11 Allegretto  1:20
12 Lento  2:35
13 Tranquillo - très calme  2:01
14 Severo - sérieux  2:10
15 Lento - plaintif  2:26
16 Calme  2:28

[Book 3]
17 Lento  2:55
18 Luminoso  2:14
19 Tranquillo  2:24
20 Calme  3:23
21 Lento  2:31

[Book 4]
22 Molto lento e tranquillo  2:23
23 Calme, avec clarté  2:30
24 Moderato  2:44
25 quarter note = 100  3:16
26 Lento  2:54
27 Lento molto  3:04
28 Lento  4:17

29 Trois Variations  4:40


Javier Perianes - p

Recorded at Auditorium de Anacrusi S.L., Jafre de Ter, Girona ; June 20/July 1, 2006


Melanchthon said...

Anonymous said...

Looking forward to this! I love "tintinnabuli" approach to music, thanks MM!

velobrewer said...

Looking forward to this Mel. Great tradition in the French miniatures school...Thank you.

carrolin said...

Muchas gracias campeón

Pedro del Castillo Alonso said...

Thank you very much Mel