Sunday, June 26, 2016

Gottlieb Wallisch Plays Scarlatti

Domenico Scarlatti was born in Naples in 1685, sixth of the ten children of the composer Alessandro Scarlatti, Sicilian by birth and chiefly responsible for the early development of Neapolitan opera. The Scarlatti family had extensive involvement in music both in Rome and in Naples, where Alessandro Scarlatti became maestro di cappella to the Spanish viceroy in 1684. Domenico Scarlatti started his public career in 1701 under his father’s aegis as organist and composer in the vice-regal chapel. The following year father and son took leave of absence to explore the possibilities of employment in Florence, and Alessandro was later to exercise paternal authority by sending his son to Venice, where he remained for some four years. In 1709 Domenico entered the service of the exiled Queen of Poland, Maria Casimira, in Rome, there meeting and playing against Handel in a keyboard contest, in which the latter was declared the better organist and Scarlatti the better harpsichordist. It has been suggested that he spent a period from 1719 in Palermo, but his earlier connection with the Portuguese embassy in Rome led him before long to Lisbon, where he became music-master to the children of the royal family. This employment took him in 1728 to Madrid, when his pupil the Infanta Maria Barbara married the heir to the Spanish throne. Scarlatti apparently remained there for the rest of his life, his most considerable achievement the composition of some hundreds of single-movement sonatas or exercises, designed largely for the use of the Infanta, who became Queen of Spain in 1746.
The keyboard sonatas of Domenico Scarlatti survive in part in a number of eighteenth century manuscripts, some clearly from the collection of Queen Maria Barbara, possibly bequeathed to the great Italian castrato Farinelli, who was employed at the Spanish court, and now in Venice. Various sets of sonatas were published during the composer’s lifetime, including a set of thirty issued, seemingly, in London in 1738, and 42 published in London by Thomas Roseingrave in 1739, including the thirty already available from the earlier publication. In more recent times the sonatas were edited by Alessandro Longo, who provided the numerical listing under L, and in 1953 the American harpsichordist Ralph Kirkpatrick offered a new listing, distinguished by the letter K. Stylistic grounds have suggested a further changed listing by Giorgio Pestelli, under the letter P., and proposing a new chronology, while Emilia Fadini, in a complete edition for Ricordi, offers a further re-ordering, based in part on the Venice volumes.
Kirkpatrick’s listing of the sonatas, based on the chronological order of the available sources, starts with the thirty Essercizi per gravicembalo offered for sale in early 1739 by Adamo Scola, ‘Musick Master in Vine Street, near Swallow Street, Piccadilly’. The publication included a dedication in Italian to the King of Portugal and a prefatory note for the purchaser, denying serious intention and modestly suggesting rather ‘lo scherzo ingegnoso dell’Arte’. The listing continues primarily with the Venice volumes, in chronological order of compilation...
Keith Anderson, from the booklet

Gottlieb Wallisch
Domenico Scarlatti

Complete Keyboard Sonatas, vol. 11


1 Sonata in B-Flat major, K. 472  3:08
2 Sonata in B-Flat major, K. 473  4:16
3 Sonata in C major, K. 384  4:06
4 Sonata in A minor, K. 61  3:15
5 Sonata in G minor, K. 347  5:04
6 Sonata in G major, K. 348  2:21
7 Sonata in D minor, K. 64  1:54
8 Sonata in D major, K. 224  3:26
9 Sonata in F minor, K. 462  5:53
10 Sonata in B minor, K. 376  3:45
11 Sonata in B minor, K. 377  3:02
12 Sonata in G major, K. 314  4:38
13 Sonata in D major, K. 278  2:27
14 Sonata in B-Flat major, K. 545  3:05
15 Sonata in A minor, K. 148  4:24
16 Sonata in A minor, K. 149  2:13
17 Sonata in C minor, K. 58  2:37
18 Sonata in C major, K. 406  3:37


Gottlieb Wallisch - p

Recorded at Potton Hall, Westleton, Suffolk, UK. ; January 7/8, 2007


Melanchthon said...

Pedro del Castillo Alonso said...

More Scarlatti's thanks!!

Gil said...

Merci beaucoup, le vol 10 est superbe.