Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Kun Woo Paik Plays Félix Mendelssohn

Like Chopin’s Mazurkas — or, later, Grieg’s Lyric Songs, another underestimated anthology, the Songs without Words are the intimate diary of their composer. Making up eight books, two published posthumously, and fifty pieces in total, the Songs punctuate his creative activity from 1829 to 1845. That is to say that he embarked upon this musical genre with an already solid background in piano composition. The three Sonatas, the Capriccio Op. 5, the Rondo Capriccioso Op.14, without even mentioning concertante works, had in fact been brought into the world before Mendelssohn started on the composition of the first Songs Op. 19, and the Preludes and Fugues Op. 35 had been on the drawing-board for almost a year. “Something of Goethe” — the clarity of the melodic lines, the sensation of harmony, the serene mood are all distinctive features of the Songs in which the musician, freed from all the formal, restricting frameworks and from literary or descriptive preoccupations, can give rein to his inspiration, to his profound and intensely shy nature. There is no more a superfluous outpouring than a dryness in these works ; instead we find a balance and a lyric modesty that Schumann expressed in the following words in a commentary he made about Op. 30 : “Who has not sat down one day, at dawn, in front of a harpsichord (a grand piano looked too “festive”) and not, without realising, while improvising freely, sung some light melody ? If, by chance, one can then with one’s own hands join the accompaniment with the melody, and especially if one is Mendelssohn, then those are the most beautiful Songs without Words in the world”.
Alain Cochard - 1993, from the booklet (translated by Karen Bissell)

Kun Woo Paik
Félix Mendelssohn


Lieder Ohne Worte

1 Op. 19, n° 1 in E Major. Andante con Moto  5:00
2 Op. 67, n° 6 in E Major (Berceuse). Allegretto non troppo  2:30
3 Op. 19, n° 3 in A Major (La Chasse). Molto allegro e vivace  2:05
4 Op. 19, n° 4 in A Major. Moderato  1:53
5 Op. 19, n° 5 in F-Sharp Minor. Presto agitato  3:15
6 Op. 85, n° 4 in D Major. Andante sostenuto  2:50
7 Op. 30, n° 6 in F-SHarp Minor (Chanson du gondolier vénitien). Allegretto tranquillo  4:09
8 Op. 38, n° 3 in E Major (La Harpe du poète). Presto e molto vivace  2:11
9 Op. 19, n° 6 in G Minor (Chanson du gondolier vénitien). Andante sostenuto  2:53
10 Op. 53, n° 3 in F Major. Adagio cantabile  2:32
11 Op. 30, n° 1 in E-Flat Major. Andante espressivo  4:14
12 Op. 30, n° 2 in B-Flat Minor. Allegro di molto  2:02
13 Op. 67, n° 1 in E-Flat Major. Andante  2:24
14 Op. 67, n° 2 in F-Sharp Minor. Allegro leggiero  1:47
15 Op. 67, n° 5 in B Minor (La Complainte du berger). Moderato  2:26
16 Op. 38, n° 4 in A Major. Andante  1:54
17 Op. 67, n° 6 in A Major (Chanson de Printemps). Allegretto grazioso  2:17
18 Op. 53, n° 4 in F Major. Adagio cantabile  2:38
19 Op. 67, n° 4 in C Major (La Fileuse). Presto  1:39
20 Op. 102, n° 1 in E Minor. Andante un poco agitato  2:23
21 Op. 62, n° 3 in E Minor (Marche funèbre). Andante maestoso  2:54
22 Op. 62, n° 5 in A Minor (Chanson du gondolier vénétien). Andante con moto  3:18
23 Op. 38, n° 2 in C Minor. Allegro non troppo  2:15
24 Op. 38, n° 6 in A-Flat Major (Duetto). Andante con moto  5:28


Kun Woo Paik - p

Recorded in Studio Dante, France ; Spring 1992


Melanchthon said...

theblueamos said...

The pianist who taught me how to listen to Scriabin.Thank you from Jerusalem.

dantzig65 said...

Thanks Mel.