Wednesday, June 3, 2015

Blue Mitchell - Big 6

Trumpeter Blue Mitchell was a virtual unknown when he recorded this Riverside album, his first as a leader. Now reissued on CD in the OJC series, Mitchell is heard in excellent form in an all-star sextet with trombonist Curtis Fuller, tenor great Johnny Griffin, pianist Wynton Kelly, bassist Wilbur Ware, and drummer Philly Joe Jones. In addition to some group originals, obscurities, and the standard "There Will Never Be Another You," the group also plays the earliest recorded version of Benny Golson's "Blues March," predating Art Blakey's famous recording.
Scott Yanow

Source :

Blue Mitchell
Big 6


1 Blues March (Golson)  10:23
2 Big Six (Boone)  6:42
3 There Will Never Be Another You (Gordon, Warren)  4:59
4 Brother 'Ball (Mitchell)  7:21
5 Jamph (Fuller)  3:46
6 Sir John (Mitchell)  8:05
7 Promenade (Boone)  1:40


Blue Mitchell - tp
Curtis Fuller - tb
Johnny Griffin - ts
Wynton Kelly - p
Wilbur Ware - b
Philly Joe Jones - dr

Recorded at Reeves Sound Studios ; New York City ; July 2 & 3, 1958


Melanchthon said...

John Pickworth said...

Thanks Mel !

jazzcat1228 said...

As always, thank you for this gem of an album Mel!

Paul Brigg said...

Many thanks!

deGallo said...

thank you.

kristophermc28 said...

Thanks Mel!

AmyBRAINS said...

It's a nice album!
Thanks a lot, Melanchthon.

Luis Lorenzo said...

Gracias Mel!

Jazzsoulman said...

Thank You