Saturday, September 28, 2013

Sviatoslav Richter Plays Chopin

In contrast to majority of pianists Chopin's music occupies a rather modest place in Sviatoslav Richter's repertoire. As writer Victor Delson noticed, Richter "has pure enlightening inclination to play not well know and often performed pieces of music but little known and seldom performed ones." Works of other composers such as Debussy and Beethoven took up a considerately stable position in the concert programmes throughout his performing activity. It was a different case with Chopin on the concert stage Richter digressed from performing Chopin's works. However, he turned back to the composer's creative works i the last years and never gave up performing them.
Delson called Richter's style of performing Chopin's works the style of "monumental Chopin". The first sounds of Polonaise-Fantaisie that begin the Chopinian part of the programme of one of the four October recitals in 1976 characterize this feature to the best. The programme was crowned with the large scale Forth Scherzo - the listeners noticed an unusually whole melodic line in its performance. Goldenweiser wrote : "Chopin's Forth Scherzo is often played as a mess and separate passages ; meanwhile, from the first up to the last sound it represents one ceaseless melodic line similar to the one Wagner dreamed of". Nocturne in Fis-dur is the most conspicuous piece on this disk - the one made the indelible impression on the future musician. Richter called this nocturne an unusual one, containing something weird or mysterious. The last but not the lest : Etude in cis-moll, Op. 10, the favourite encore of the great Russian pianist, completes the programme.

"My favourite composer is the one whose work I am playing now."
Sviatoslav Richer
From the booklet

Sviatoslav Richter


1 Polonaise-Fantaise in F-dur, Op. 34 n° 3  12:15
2 Waltz in F-dur, Op. 34 n° 3  2:06
3 Waltz in Des-dur, Op. 70 n° 3  3:04
4 Mazurka in cis-moll, Op. 63 n° 3  1:55
5 Mazurka in C-dur, Op. 67 n° 3  1:15
6 Mazurka in F-dur, Op. 68 n° 3  1:08
7 Mazurka in a-moll, Op. posthumous, n° 2  3:20
8 Etude in cis-moll, Op. 25 n° 7  5:45
9 Scherzo n° 4 in E-dur, Op. 54  11:10

Three Nocturnes, Op. 15
10 In F-dur  4:58
11 In Fis-dur  3:25
12 In g-moll  6:28

13 Nocturne in E-dur, Op. 62 n° 2  6:10
14 Nocturne in e-moll, Op. 72 n° 1 (posthumous)  4:22
15 Etude in cis-moll, Op. 10 n° 4  2:06


Sviatoslav Richter - p

Recorded live a the Great Hall of the Moscow Conservatory ; May 26, 1967 [# 13-14] ; October 6, 1971 [# 10-12] ; & October 10, 1976 [# 1-9 & 15]

Se also


Melanchthon said...

Wade Cottingham said...

I have a lot of Richter but not this, thanks!

Arewenotmen? said...

Je ne suis pas parvenu à ouvrir le lien... est-il possible de le poster à nouveau ? Grand merci d'avance !

sslav khit said...

Dear Mel! Please, could you refresh the links for this CD. Thanks a lot!!!