Sunday, August 4, 2013

Guiomar Novaes Plays Schumann

Collectors and music lovers still recall the name of pianist Guiomar Novaes [1895-1979] with gratitude, warmth, and affection. She recorded prolifically during the LP era for Vox Productions, Inc. Prior to that, many recordings were made for Columbia Records and RCA Victor on 78-rpm discs, which found their way to Music & Arts CDs: 702 : Complete RCA Recordings, 1919-1927 ; 1029 (2 CDs): Columbia recordings (1940-1947) + 1949 Town Hall Recital, NYC. The Vox LP recordings were made available for years. Mme. Novaes' Chopin recordings were particularly held in the highest esteem. The founder of Classical Music Guide, Ward Botsford, was Novaes' recording producer at Vox for her recordings issued under this label.
Musical Concepts has just issued a two-CD set [MC 127, mono only] entitled “Guiomar Novaes Plays Schumann.” All the recordings were made in the 1950s and have never been made available on compact discs until now. They have been unavailable since the demise of the long-playing record - absent for purchase for over thirty years.
The back inlay is erroneous as to the contents of the first disc. While the front cover insert identifies all the pieces correctly, the back inlay leaves out the inclusion of Papillons, Op. 2 on the first CD and makes it appear that Papillons' tracks are embraced by Kinderszenen. The leaflet, too, does not make Papillons stand out to determine which track commences the piece, which is Track 36. The text leaflet contains timings and covers of former Novaes Schumann Vox LP releases. Timings are shown only for individual tracks, not for the entire piece, which, for broadcasters, is always problemmatical. Total timing for each CD was also absent. Remastering is quite good for this set, which uses a fine Steinway piano. If anything, the instrument may be a tad bit heavier in the bass and mid-range of the piano, however, Novaes' gorgeous singing tone and line is immediately and always apparent. One may, on occasion, notice the lightest touch of Mme. Novaes drops out of the recording, inherent in the original tapes, particularly in the Fantasiestücke. It almost sounds as though the Concerto in A Minor was remastered from an LP. You will also notice some intonation problems throughout Klemperer's orchestra, identified as the Vienna Symphony. Otherwise, these are solid, interesting interpretations of these piano masterworks. I dare say it is wonderful to have them back in the best possible sound ... no pops or ticks from the LPs.

Source :

Guiomar Novaes
Robert Schumann

Cd. 1


Carnaval, Op. 9
Scènes mignonnes sur quatre notes

1 I. Préambule. Quasi maestoso - Più moto - Animato - Vivo - Presto  2:13
2 II. Pierrot. Moderato 1:08
3 III. Arlequin. Vivo 0:34
4 IV. Valse noble. Un poco maestoso 1:12
5 V. Eusebius. Adagio  1:32
6 VI. Florestan. Passionato  0:48
7 VII. Coquette. Vivo  0:48
8 VIII. Répliques. L'istesso tempo  0:25
9 IX. Papillons. Prestissimo  0:43
10 X. A.S.C.H. - S.C.H.A (Lettres dansantes). Presto  0:44
11 XI. Chiarina. Passionato  1:01
12 XII. Chopin. Agitato  1:34
13 XIII. Estrella. Con affetto  0:28
14 XIV. Reconnaissance. Animato  1:14
15 XV. Pantalon et Colombine. Presto  0:46
16 XVI. Valse allemande. Molto vivace  0:34
17 Paganini. Intermezzo. Presto  0:46
18 XVI bis. Valse allemande  0:27
19 XVII. Aveu. Passionato  0:54
20 XVIII. Promenade. Comodo  1:51
21 XIX. Pause. Vivo  0:17
22 XX. Marche des "Davidsbündler" contre les Philistins.
Non allegro - Molto più vivo - Animato - Vivo - Animato molto -Vivo - Più Stretto  3:12


Kinderszenen, op. 15

23 I. Von fremden Ländern und Menschen  1:25
24 II. Kuriose Geschichte  1:01
25 III. Hasche-Mann  0:29
26 IV. Bittendes Kind  0:43
27 V. Glückes genug  0:36
28 VI. Wichtige Begebenheit  0:50
29 VII. Träumerei  2:29
30 VIII. Am Kamin  0:55
31 IX. Ritter vom Steckenpferd  0:38
32 X. Fast und ernst  1:38
33 XI. Fürchtenmachen  1:51
34 XII. Kind im Einschlummern  1:52
35 XIII. Des Dichter spricht  2:12


Papillons, op. 2

36 I. Introduzione  0:52
37 II. Prestissimo  0:15
38 III.  0:52
39 IV. Presto  0:54
40 V. (Basso cantando)  1:42
41 VI.  1:01
42 VII. Semplice  0:41
43 VIII. 1:12
44 IX. Prestissimo  0:49
45 X. Vivo 1:52
46 XI.  2:29
47 XII. Finale  1:49


Etudes symphoniques, op. 13

48 I. Thema. Andante  1:31
49 II. Variation I. Etude I. Un poco più vivo  1:14
50 III. Variation II. Etude II. Marcato il canto  3:07
51 IV. Etude III. Vivace  1:17
52 V. Variation III. Etude IV  0:58
53 VI. Variation IV. Etude V. Scherzando  1:13
54 VII. Variation V. Etude VI. Agitato  0:57
55 VIII. Variation VI. Etude VII. Allegro molto  0:35
56 IX. Variation VII. Etude VIII. Sempre marcatissiomo  2:18
57 X. Etude IX. Presto possible  0:40
58 XI. Variation VIII. Etude X. Con energica sempre  1:13
59 XII. Variation IX. Etude XI  2:05
60 XIII. Finale. Etude XII. Allegro brillante  5:57


Cd. 2

Fantasiestücke, Op. 12

1 I. Des Abends. Sehr innig zu spielen  3:33
2 II. Aufschwung. Sehr rasch  3:24
3 III. Warum ?. Langsam und zart  3:08
4 IV. Grillen. Mit humor  3:29
5 V. In der Nacht. Mit Leidenschaft  4:32
6 VI. Fabel. Schnell  2:46
7 VII. Traumes Wirren. Aeussert lebhaft   2:44
8 VIII. Ende vom Lied. Mit gutem Humor  5:58

Piano Concerto in A minor, op. 54

9 I. Allegro affetuoso 15:47
10 II. Intermezzo (Andantino-attaca) 5:36
11 III. Allegro vivace 10:32


Guiomar Novaes - p
Vienna Symphony Orchestra
Otto Klemperer - cond

First issued on LP in 1955


Melanchthon said...

cvllos said...

Wow, Melanchthon!
That's a serious name on brasilian classic piano.
And thank you for this oportunity.

Frankie said...

Extraordinary performer, able to give grace, subtlety, poetry to this rough instrument that can also - as Monk demonstrated - torture strings by hammer strokes (I adore Monk, but am glad I never was at the place of the strings when he played).

Thanks Melanchthon!

Petru said...

Please, could you reupload?

White 1234 said...

Could You reupload please?