Sunday, June 2, 2013

Hank Jones with Kenny Burrell & Barry Galbraith

This release features 2 brilliant interpretations of Broadway Revues by the grandfather of the Detroit piano school, Hank Jones. Leading a piano/guitar quartet that included guitarist Barry Galbraith, bassist Arnold Fishkin and drummer Don Lamond, Jones entered a New York studio on January 31, 1958 to record Lerner & Loewe's classic film score 'Gigi'. This edition also includes a second Hank Jones led piano/guitar quartet studio date recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey on October 19, 1963 featuring an all-star band with guitarist Kenny Burrell, bassist Milt Hinton and drummer Elvin Jones. This time, the group recorded Meredith Wilson's 'Here's Love', a musical adaptation of the legendary Yuletide film Miracle On 34th Street.
Gambit. 2005.

Source :

Hank Jones Quartet
Complete Recordings 
Kenny Burrell & Barry Galbraith


cd. 1

1 Gigi (Lerner-Loewe) 3:20
2 I'm Not Young Anymore (Lerner-Loewe) 3:13
3 Thank Heaven for Little Girls (Lerner-Loewe) 2:10
4 It's a Bore (Lerner-Loewe) 2:59
5 Say a Prayer for Me Tonight (Lerner-Loewe) 3:05
6 Gossip (Lerner-Loewe) 2:17
7 Waltz at Maxim's (Lerner-Loewe) 2:26
8 The Parisians (Lerner-Loewe) 1:28
9 I Remember It Well (Lerner-Loewe) 2:32
10 The Night They Invented Champagne (Lerner-Loewe) 1:38
11 Here's Love (Wilson) 2:43
12 My Wish (Wilson) 3:36
13 You Don't Know (Wilson) 3:16
14 Dear Mister Santa Claus (Wilson) 3:59
15 That Man Over There (Wilson) 2:57
16 Arm in Arm (Wilson) 3:49
17 The Big Clown Balloons (Wilson) 2:18
18 Love, Come Take Me Again [From "Here's Love"] (Wilson) 2:00
19 Pine Cones and Holly Berries (Wilson) 4:47
20 My State, My Kansas, My Home (Wilson) 2:41


cd. 2

1 If I Love Again (Murray, Oakland) 1:56
2 My One and Only Love (Mellin, Wood) 2:34
3 Don't Ever Leave Me (Hammerstein, Kern) 2:38
4 It's Easy to Remember (Hart, Rodgers) 2:45
5 You're My Love (Bass) 3:00
6 Blue Lights (Gryce) 2:59
7 The Blue Room (Hart, Rodgers) 2:44
8 A Sunday Kind of Love (Belle, Leonard, Prima, Rhodes) 2:44
9 Star Eyes (DePaul, Raye) 2:48
10 Let Me Know (Jones) 2:31
11 Try a Little Tenderness (Campbell, Connelly, Woods) 3:34
12 Easy to Love (Porter) 3:25
13 Summertime (Gershwin) 2:31
14 There's a Boat Dat's Leavin' Soon for New York (Gershwin) 2:10
15 My Man's Gone Now (Gershwin) 3:41
16 A Woman Is a Sometime Thing (Gershwin) 2:40
17 Bess, You Is My Woman (Gershwin) 2:46
18 It Ain't Necessarily So (Gershwin) 3:23
19 I Got Plenty O' Nuttin' (Gershwin) 2:28
20 Oh, I Can't Sit Down (Gershwin) 4:04
21 Oh Bess, Oh Where's My Bess ? (Gershwin) 3:27
22 I Ain't Got No Shame (Gershwin) 2:18


[cd 1 - #1-10]
Hank Jones - p
Barry Galbraith - g
Arnolf Fishkin - b
Don lamond - dr
Recorded New York ; January 31, 1958
[cd 1 - #11-20]
Hank Jones - p
Kenny Burrell - g
Milt Hinton - b
Elvin Jones - dr
Recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey ; October 19, 1963
[cd 2 - # 1-12]
Hank Jones - p
Barry Galbraith - g
Milt Hinton - b
Osie Johnson - dr
Recorded in New York City ; January 31, 1958
[cd 2 - # 13-22]
Hank Jones - p
Kenny Burrell - g
Milt Hinton - b
Elvin Jones - dr
Al Cohn - arr.
Recorded in New York ; late 1958


Antoine Boku said...

Thanks for these ones..., I'm just looking for them a long time, cheers!

getzoot said...

Wonderful post!

bosshoss said...

Yeah! A million thanks. Been lookin' for quite a while... You just got sooo much great stuff on your blog. Really apreciate Your effort.

Melanchthon said...

CrunchyFrog said...

wonderful Hank Jones - Thanks!

Frankie said...

Hi Melanchthon,

I discover these place recently, and am still "in shock".

What can I add that was not already written thousand times here? This is by far the best blog about Jazz on the web, for several reasons:

* the quality of recordings and musicians, or at least their interest (maybe it's just an impression because we have the same preferences in Jazz)

* the quality of files, only in a free lossless format, only the best hi-res scans and covers

* the quality of presentation, with explicit titles, comments, complete scans, extra covers... special thanks for the comments you find, I copy all of them and keep them aside the music files.

* the smart use of this blog for several details (complete indexation by musicians, messages clear and well presented, pw...)

I want to say more personal things to you. You make me think of a french man who is a jazz fan (and collector). He loves Jazz and wanted to make it known and heard from all, through radio and TV: Jean-Christophe Averty. He is an old man now, but I'm sure that if he can see your blog and surf on these pages, he would enjoy the work you do.

Question: I looked in old posts, and read "L'avis du Patron". Sure the answer is yes, but nevertheless I ask: is the Patron's name "Melanchthon"? If yes, thanks also for these small personal parenthesis that reveal a man with a great knowledge of jazz and a not smaller passion for it.

Another question: I find that guitarists are here slightly under-represented... like illustrated in your "4 lessons in Jazz" ;-) Do you play guitar?

Phillip said...

Sublime. Mel, many thanks as always.

neil said...

Had 'Porgy and Bess' as mp3; so many thanks for the upgrade and the extras,mel...

el marinero said...

I could not agree more with Frankie,this blog is the shit!,I love it,thanks again for the record Mel.

Markus Rose said...

Great stuff, Mel.

jazzcat1228 said...

Very nice share. Thank you, Mel!