Sunday, May 12, 2013

Pat Martino - Desperado

Guitarist Pat Martino's first five recordings as a leader were made for the Prestige label, and this one (the fifth) has been reissued on CD by Original Jazz Classics. Martino performs Sonny Rollins' "Oleo" and five of his originals, using the 12-string guitar. The rhythm section (keyboardist Eddie Green, electric bassist Tyrone Brown, and drummer Sherman Ferguson) is funky in spots, electric, and swinging when called for. Eric Kloss makes a guest appearance on soprano for the opening "Blackjack," but otherwise, most of the focus is on Martino's consistently inventive playing.
Scott Yanow

Source :

Pat Martino


1 Blackjack* (Martino) 7:52
2 Dearborn Walk (Martino) 3:56
3 Oleo (Rollins) 4:56
4 Desperado (Martino) 7:58
5 A Portrait of Diana (Martino) 4:26
6 Express (Martino) 6:45

Pat Martino - 12 str. g
Eric Kloss* - ss
Eddie Green - el. p
Tyrone Brown - el. b
Sherman Ferguson - dr, bells

Recorded in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey ; March 9, 1970.


lcbriza said...

Thank you for this one.

pancrace said...

thanks for this one
and all the others...

ivazzoo said...

Wonderful album, thank you very much. File APE 02=Oleo, 03=Dearborn Walk. Renumber.

Melanchthon said...

fcapeau said...

Amazing post ! And .... what about the four previous albums on Prestige ?? We are Hungry ... Many thanks , Mel.