Thursday, May 2, 2013

Bud Shank & Bob Cooper - Mosaic 10

  A Passion For Swinging

After three years together in Stan Kenton’s sax section, Charlie Parker-inspired alto saxophonist Bud Shank and Lucky Thompson-influenced tenorman Bob Cooper left to pursue their own careers and played together in Howard Rumsey’s Lighthouse All-Stars, where they found unlikely success with an album that featured Shank’s flute and Cooper’s oboe. Both reedmen exhibited remarkable fluency and technique in adapting these unusual instruments to a jazz context.
In April/June 1954, Shank cut Bud Shank And Three Trombones – all valve trombones - for Pacific Jazz with Bob Cooper contributing the arrangements and three originals. Despite the absence of Cooper, Shank’s next date with Bob Brookmeyer and a string quintet is also included here because it’s rare and we had room. (Bob Cooper’s 1955 Kenton Presents LPs with Shank can be heard on Mosaic MD4-185).
By 1956, the reedmen were studio regulars, but Shank was concentrating on his own quartet. At one concert recorded by Pacific Jazz (Jazz At Cal-Tech), he invited Cooper to be guest artist and they revived their flute/oboe combination on two tunes. The response was such that they returned to the studio in November to record Flute ‘N Oboe with Howard Roberts, Don Prell and Chuck Flores. On five selections, they are joined by a string quartet with absolutely brilliant writing by Cooper.
In January 1958, they began The Swing’s To TV with four tunes using the same instrumentation. But a month later, they decided to open things; using Shank’s rhythm section, they recorded 11 tunes using various combinations of Shank on alto, tenor and flute and Cooper on tenor, bass clarinet and oboe with remarkable results. This material found its way onto The Swing’s To TV, Jazz Swings Broadway and Blowin’ Country.
Although their paths crossed constantly in studios and clubs, the sound they created together (and not just on flute and oboe) came to an end with these sessions, all of which are included here in their entirety.

Source :


For hardcore West Coast jazz fans, this Mosaic Select volume will be a kind of treasure-trove, though for most it will simply be a compelling curiosity piece. The collaborations of saxophonist and flutist Bud Shank and arranger, saxophonist, and oboist Bob Cooper created some tumult in the mid-1950s, when they recorded four albums together with various-sized ensembles, and, to a lesser degree, on Shank's date with Bob Brookmeyer arranged by Cooper. All tolled, there are five albums on these three discs : Bud Shank and Bob Brookmeyer (along with the session's remaining tracks that showed up on Bud Shank and Three Trombones on Pacific Jazz), Jazz at Cal-Tech (Pacific Jazz), Flute and Oboe (World Pacific), Swing's to TV, as well as the cuts from Jazz Swings Broadway (World Pacific) and of course, the classic, Blowin' Country (World Pacific). The quark strangeness and charm of these recordings cannot be underestimated, and neither can their swing. With sidemen like pianist Claude Williamson, drummers Chuck Flores or Shelly Manne, bassist Don Prell and others, these dates have a kind of quaintness that dates them in that restless yet ultra-hip period in the 1950s when almost anything went as long as it swung, and that stood outside the entire hard bop scene. These sides are not for everyone, but they are priceless for the sheer sophistication and adventurousness of their arrangements and the interplay between Shank and Cooper, which was symbiotic. A very fine idea by the folks at Mosaic.
Thom Jurek

Source :

Bud Shank & Bob Cooper
Mosaic Select


Cd. 1

1 Valve Head (Shank) 3:15
2 Cool Fool (Cooper) 3:25
3 Little Girl Blue (Hart, Rodgers) 3:20
4 Mobile (Cooper) 2:47
5 Wailing Vessel (Cooper) 2:45
6 Baby's Birthday (Party Ronell) 2:50
7 You Don't Know What Love Is (DePaul, Raye) 4:20
8 Sing Something Simple (Hupfield) 2:39
9 Wailing Vessel [alternate take] (Cooper) 2:43
10 When Lights Are Low [live] (Carter, Williams) 7:39
11 Old Devil Moon [live] (Harburg, Lane) 6:51
12 The Nearness of You [live] (Carmichael, Washington) 4:20
13 Medley: How Long Has This Been Going On/Tea for Two [live] (Caesar, Gershwin, Gershwin) 5:14
14 Lullaby of Birdland [live] (Shearing, Weiss) 4:18
15 Somebody Loves Me [live] (DeSylva, Gershwin, MacDonald) 5:48
16 Moonlight in Vermont [live] (Blackburn, Suessdorf) 6:34
17 The King [live] (Basie) 6:41


Cd. 2

1 Low Life (Mandel) 3:58
2 When Your Lover Has Gone (Swan) 2:58
3 Out of This World (Arlen, Mercer) 3:14
4 There's a Small Hotel (Hart, Rodgers) 2:40
5 Rustic Hop (Brookmeyer) 4:15
6 You Are Too Beautiful (Hart, Rodgers) 4:03
7 With the Wind and the Rain in Your Hair (Edwards, Lawrence) 5:11
8 Low Life [alternate take] (Mandel) 3:59
9 Dinah (Akst, Lewis, Young) 3:21
10 Mutual Admiration Society (Dubey, Karr) 3:49
11 Steve Allen Theme (Allen) 4:11
12 I've Grown Accustomed to Her Face (Lerner, Loewe) 2:45
13 Blowin' Country (Shank) 6:18
14 Love Nest (Harbach, Hirsch) 3:16
15 As Long as There's Music (Cahn, Styne) 3:44
16 Just in Time (Comden, Green, Styne) 3:45
17 Two Lost Souls (Adler, Ross) 3:48
18 Thanks for the Memory (Rainger, Robin) 4:31
19 A Romantic Guy, I (Sharbutt, Stanaton, Uhl) 3:33


Cd. 3

1 Sweet Georgia Brown (Bernie, Casey, Pinkard) 3:44
2 Gypsy in My Soul (Boland, Jaffe) 3:27
3 I Want to Be Happy (Caesar, Youmans) 2:35
4 What'll I Do ? (Berlin) 2:48
5 They Didn't Believe Me (Kern, Reynolds) 4:44
6 In the Blue of the Evening (Adair, DArtega) 3:38
7 Tequila Time (Cooper) 4:22
8 I Can't Get Started (Duke, Gershwin) 4:18
9 Blues for Delilah (Cooper) 7:03
10 Sunset and Wine (Cooper) 4:14
11 When You Wish Upon a Star (Harline, Washington) 4:20
12 Put Your Dreams Away (For Another Day) (Lowe, Mann, Weiss) 3:08
13 Tenderly (Gross, Lawrence) 2:54
14 Danny Boy (Londonberry Air) (Traditional) 5:10

Feat. Bud Shank, Bob Cooper, Bob Enevoldsen, Stu Williamson, Maynard Ferguson, Claude Williamson, Joe Mondragon, Shelly Manne, Bob Brookmeyer, Larry Bunker, Buddy Clark, Chuck Flores, Howard Roberts, Don Prell, etc...

Recorded between April 3, 1954 & February 18, 1958.

(See the complete artwork for all details)


Radenko said...

thank you so much.

Otis Foster said...

Shank and Coop were a wonderful combination - thanks Mel

Descargador said...

Muchas Gracias Melanchthon!

Ric said...

Great post !!!!
Thanks Mel

mel said...

"Although their paths crossed constantly in studios and clubs, the sound they created together ...came to an end with these sessions (which ended February 18, 1958). So said Mosiac Records. Wrong. Shank, Coop, Christy, Williamson, Flores and Prell toured South Africa later in 1958 where I saw and heard them in concert in Durban. They also recorded an LP in South Africa - which was released by Pacific Jazz, now a part of the same organization as Mosaic.


salience said...

Thanks Mel, and thanks also for the filenames!

horacio said...

Tkanks a lot!

stringbender said...

Many thanks for posting this now OOP set. All of the music is great but the Cal-Tech, "Four Trombones" and "Low Life" sessions are exceptional.

lcbriza said...

Thank you very much. Great post!

jazzlover said...

Your effort will never be missed.
Great post,thank you !

Kovina Kris said...

Shank/Cooper - Mosaic Select:
Wow, yet another post that completely floors me with its greatness. Thank you so very much Mel. Outstanding!

Melanchthon said...