Saturday, April 27, 2013

George Shearing - The MPS Trio Sessions (1977-1979)

For those fortunate enough to hear and own the immaculately produced Germany/Black Forest based MPS recordings, distributed as imported pristine virgin vinyl LPs that were pressed in the '70s, you already know the quality of this four-CD set of George Shearing's trio. With the peerless Dane Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen and Ireland's genius guitarist Louis Stewart, they can hardly do anything wrong musically. The first three CDs have Shearing playing standards, occasionally contemporizing his repertoire on Chick Corea's "Windows" and "500 Miles High," doing NHØP's "Cowboy Santa" and "My Little Anna," and offering two of his own originals, "The Fourth Deuce" and "G & G." The final CD has the threesome accompanied by strings, arranged and conducted by the brilliant Robert Farnon, and while a bit syrupy, lend pleasant late-night contrast at the end of a long day to the proceedings. This is a welcome addition to Shearing's collections discography, and a reminder of how good, in a short time period, MPS and producer Hans Georg Brunner-Schwer were.
Michael G. Nastos

Source :

George Shearing
The MPS Trio Sessions


Cd. 1

1 Tricotism (Pettiford) 2:53
2 Windows (Corea) 4:25
3 No Moon at All (Evans, Mann) 5:22
4 Some Other Spring (Herzog, Jr., Kitchings) 2:49
5 Wait Till You See Her (Rodgers, Hart) 4:12
6 Tune Up (Davis) 3:37
7 The Party's Over (Comden, Green, Styne) 5:22
8 The Lamp Is Low (DeRose, Parish) 3:44
9 Lazy Afternoon (Latouche, Moross) 5:32
10 Cowboy Samba (Perdersen) 4:54
11 Cheryl (Parker) 2:53
12 5000 Miles High (Corea, Potter) 4:50
13 I Wished on the Moon (Parker, Rainger) 5:32
14 Old Folks (Hill, Robison) 4:33


Cd. 2

1 Jordu (Jordan) 5:17
2 P.S. I Love You (Jenkins, Mercer) 7:36
3 Everything Happens to Me (Adair) 3:57
4 Here's That Rainy Day (Burke, VanHeusen) 5:43
5 Invitation (Kaper, Webster) 3:06
6 In Your Own Sweet Way (Brubeck) 6:14
7 Alice in Wonderland (Fain, Hilliard) 6:17
8 All This and Heaven Too (VanHeusen, Delange) 7:06
9 No Greater Love (Jones, Symes) 5:18
10 Con Alma ( Gillespie) 5:57


Cd. 3

1 The Fourth Deuce (Shearing) 5:35
2 The Wine of May (McGlohon) 4:39
3 Don't Get Around Much Anymore (Ellington, Russell) 6:20
4 Consternation (Shearing) 5:15
5 Sweet and Lovely (Arnheim, Lemare, Tobias) 7:08
6 My Little Anna (Pedersen) 3:50
7 Sweet Lorraine (Burwell, Parish) 4:02
8 Louis Ann (Montgomery) 3:00
9 G & G (Shearing) 5:53
10 Poinciana (Bernier, Simon) 3:20
11 This Can't Be Love (Hart) 6:26


Cd. 4

1 Fjärlins Vingor (Bellman) 5:01
2 Last Night When We Were Young (Arlen, Harburg) 4:52
3 Amaryllis (Banter) 3:49
4 Strange Enchantment (Loesser) 5:10
5 Look at That Face (Bricusse, Newley) 4:13
6 Portrait of Jennie (Burdge, Robinson) 5:22
7 Song Bird (McGlohon) 5:31
8 This Is All I Ask (Jenkins) 5:44
9 A Nightingale Sang in Berkeley Square (Maschwitz, Sherwin) 4:56

George Shearing - p
Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen - b
Louis Stewart - g

Recorded at MPS-Studio, Villingen, Germany ; between June 1977 & September 18-21, 1979

See the complete artwork


LaroSwing said...

Thank you Melanchthon, it's a nice upgrade for me!

moxnix said...

Thank you, Melanchthon, I have been looking for this, looking forward to hearing it!

Oracle said...

Dang nice my man! Dang nice. Thanks!

zero said...

Sweet! Thank you very much.

deGallo said...

Thank you very much. Tremendous post!

PlantDoctor53 said...

Thank you Mel. Appreciated.

Le Porc Rouge said...

Just right in time ;-)

Super post, many thanks!

jazzy62 said...

George Shearing

Great post! Great albums too!

theblueamos said...

Fantastic post!fantastic music ,all the best

CrunchyFrog said...

excellent post - most grateful

Melanchthon said...


fcapeau said...

Many thanks, Mel, for this amazing post.

Dr. Fu Man Chu said...

Hi there,
after trying all day and night I eventually could download the Shearing MPS stuff with the exception of CD 2, of which all the links are expired or somehow otherwise unavailable. Any chance for a re-up? I would be very pleased. Thank you in advance!