Friday, October 26, 2012

Ella Fitzgerald - Mack the Knife

Ella Fitzgerald was at the peak of her form during her 1960 tour of Europe. Her Berlin concert is most remembered for her hilariously inventive version of "Mack the Knife," during which she forgot the words and substituted ones of her own that somehow fit, amazing herself in the process. In addition to the original LP program, this CD has two previously unissued titles and a pair of others only briefly released on a very rare LP. With fine support from her quartet (pianist Paul Smith, guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Wilfred Middlebrooks, and drummer Gus Johnson), Fitzgerald is brilliant throughout the well-rounded set, with highlights including "Misty" (a version very different from Sarah Vaughan's), "The Lady Is a Tramp," "Too Darn Hot," and a scat-filled "How High the Moon." This is essential music...
Scott Yanow

Source :

Ella Fitzgerald
Mack the Knife
The Complete Ella in Berlin


1 Setting up the Stage: Tuning up; Norman Granz & Ella Fitzgerald   0:20
2 That Old Black Magic (Arlen, Mercer)  3:51
3 Love Is Here to Stay (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:19
4 Gone With the Wind (Magidson, Wrubel)  2:25
5 Misty (Burke, Garner)  2:38
6 Applause and Fanfare Interlude  0:19
7 The Lady Is a Tramp (Hart, Rodgers)  2:40
8 Fanfare and Announcement  0:28
9 The Man I Love (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:42
10 Love for Sale (Porter)  2:57
11 Just One of Those Things (Porter)  3:53
12 Summertime (Gershwin, Gershwin, Heyward)  3:02
13 Too Darn Hot (Porter)  3:17
14 Applause and Fanfare Interlude  0:24
15 Lorelei (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:27
16 Mack the Knife (Blitzstein, Brecht, Weill)  4:39
17 Fanfare and Announcement  0:23
18 How High the Moon (Hamilton, Lewis)  6:58
19 Applause and Closing Fanfare  1:06

Ella Fitzgerald - vc
Paul Smith - p
Jim Hall - g
Wilfred Middlebrooks - b
Gus Johnson - dr

Recorded in West Berlin ; February 13, 1960

No comments: