Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Sammy Price & Doc Cheatham Play George Gershwin

This compilation in Verve's Jazz in Paris reissue series contains two separate sessions led by Sammy Price. The first, from 1956, features 14 piano solos by Price, exploring standards, classic jazz compositions, and some originals as well, so the title of this reissue is a bit misleading. The influence of Fats Waller, Earl Hines, and Teddy Wilson is evident in several of the selections, though Price is clearly his own man. The miniature performances of "Ain't Misbehavin'" and "Rosetta" are joyous, while the loping midtempo arrangement of "Willow Weep for Me" is both elegant and entertaining. His compositions are hardly throwaway filler material, especially the fascinating "Tata's Blues." Two years later, Price was touring Europe while leading a band, but brought only one member into the studio, trumpeter Doc Cheatham. The eight-song set from this session focuses exclusively on George Gershwin's songbook, though Cheatham sits out three numbers. Although "Oh, Lady Be Good" and "Summertime" are laudable, it is their inspired condensed arrangement of "Rhapsody in Blue" (which is barely over three minutes) that proves to be the highlight of their duo session. Since Price and Cheatham were active professionally for six and seven decades respectively, this disc catches each of them roughly in the middle of their careers. While Cheatham was probably more widely known at the end of his long life, the music by both men within this CD is well worth acquiring.
Ken Dryden

Source :

Sammy Price
Doc Cheatham
George Gershwin


1 I Can't Give You Anything ButLove (Fields, McHugh)  1:45
2 Can't Help Lovin' That Man (Hammerstein, Kern)  3:19
3 Keepin' Out of Mischief Now (Waller)  1:07
4 Rosetta (Hines, Wood)  1:42
5 Someone to Watch Over Me (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:03
6 Baby Won't You Please Come Home ? (Warfield, Williams)  2:20
7 Blues in My Heart (Carter, Mills)  3:07
8 St. Louis Blues (Handy)  3:15
9 Tata's Blues (Price)  4:16
10 Tea for Two (Caesar, Youmans)  2:17
11 Cinema's Boogie (Price)  2:16
12 Willow Weep for Me (Ronell)  2:23
13 Pinetop's Boogie Woogie (Smith)  2:49
14 Valetta (Price)  2:39
15 On the Sunny Side of the Street (Fields, McHugh)  2:33
16 Adieu (Price)  0:42
17 Oh, Lady Be Good (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:18
18 The Man I Love (Gershwin)  3:18
19 I Got Rhythm (Gershwin)  3:13
20 Summertime (Gershwin, Gershwin, Heyward)  2:55
21 Somebody Loves Me (Gershwin)  2:47
22 Embraceable You (Gershwin, Gershwin)  4:46
23 'S Wonderful (Gershwin, Gershwin)  3:23
24 Rhapsody in Blue (Gershwin)  3:10

[# 1-16] Reissue of the Club Français du Disque 10" LP 72
Sammy Price - p
Recorded in Paris ; April 9, 1956
[# 17-24] Reissue of the Club Français du Disque 10" LP 142
Doc Cheatham - tp [# 17, 19, 20, 22 & 24]
Sammy Price - p
Recorded in Paris ; 1958


Melanchthon said...

ita diegues said...

Gracias Melanchthon.

Otis Foster said...

Thnx mel


Kovina Kris said...

Thank you Mel!