Sunday, September 12, 2010

Johnny Griffin

This formerly obscure quartet set by tenor-saxophonist Johnny Griffin (reissued on CD in the OJC series) features the fiery soloist on five little-known originals written by Chicagoans plus a burning version of "Cherokee." Virtually all of Griffin's recordings are worth getting and, with the assistance of pianist Kenny Drew, bassist Wilbur Ware and drummer Philly Joe Jones, the tenor is in superior form for this spirited date.
Scott Yanow
Source :

Johnny Griffin
Way Out !


1 Where's Your Overcoat, Boy ? (Evans) 6:16
2 Hot Sausage (Christian) 4:01
3 Sunny Monday (Hines) 9:52
4 Cherokee (Noble) 6:38
5 Terry's Tune (Thornton) 8:00
6 Little John (Hines) 7:30

Johnny Griffin - ts
Kenny Drew - p
Wilbur Ware - b
Philly Joe Jones - dr

Recorded at Reeves Sound Studios, New York City ; February 1958


Melanchthon said...

jane doe said...

thanx for this post

Otis Foster said...

Sound upgrade, obligado Mel

rm said...

merci beaucoup!

neil said...

Always got time for Mr griffin, especially with such sound support.
Many thanks, Mel...

Anonymous said...

Password my friend, please.