Thursday, February 12, 2015

Vladimir Horowitz Plays Scriabin (RCA)

Scriabin's 10 sonatas constitute the nucleus not onlly of his extensive contribution to the piano literature but of his entire output. They trace his musical and philosophical transformation from a 19th-century Russian composer of graceful morceaux strongly influenced by Chopin to a mystical avant-gardist who created a private world of tenuous visions and soaring aspirations.
The Third Sonata was composed in 1897 when Scriabin was 25 yers old. It is one of his best-known and most widely played compositions and is one of only two of his sonatas in traditional four-movement form. On July 10, 1900, Scriabin played the second and the third movements in Paris ; the first complete performance was given by Vsevolod Buyukly on November 23, 1900, in Moscow.
Scriabin subtitled his sonata Etat d'Ame, or "Soul-States." Of the first movement he says : "The free, untamed Soul plunges passionately into an abyss of suffering and strife." In the second movement, "The Soul, weary of suffering, finds illusory and transitory respite..." ; in the third, "The Soul floats on a tender and melancholy sea of feeling..." ; and in the finale, "Now the elements unleash themselves. The Soul struggles within thei vortex of fury... When all is within its grasp, it sinks back, broken, falling into a new abyss of... nothingness."
In his biography of Scriabin, Leonid Sabaneyev says that this sonata is "where the real Scriabin shows his face... Everything that had been embryonic, those individual flashes that had seen light in previous etudes and preludes - his afected tragedy, pathos, broken rhythms in which one feels a fearsome nervositiy, eroticism, indisputable strength and color, refinement and elegance - all these and more were incarnated in it."
From the booklet

Alexander Scriabin


1 Sonata n° 5, op. 55  12:11

Recorded February 1976 in Concert

Recorded May 1956 in New York

2 Op. 11/1 in C  0:52
3 Op. 11/10 in C-sharp minor  1:22
4 Op. 11/9 in E major  1:44
5 Op. 11/3 in G major  0:44
6 Op. 11/16 in B-Flat Minor  1:45
7 Op. 11/13 in G-Flat Major  1:42
8 Op. 11/14 in E-Flat Minor  0:57
9 Op. 15/2 in F-Sharp Minor  0:42
10 Op. 16/1 in B Major  2:49
11 Op. 13/6 in B Minor  1:27
12 Op. 16/4 in E-Flat Minor  1:04
13 Op. 27/1 in G Minor  1:27
14 Op. 51/2 in A Minor  2:26
15 Op. 48/3 in D-Flat Major  0:52
16 Op. 67/1  1:44
17. Op. 59/2  1:37


Sonata n° 3, Op. 23 in F-sharp Minor
Recorded May 1956 in New York

18 Dramatico  6:19
19 Allegretto  3:09
20 Andante  4:43
21 Presto con fuoco; Meno mosso  5:24


22 Op. 8/7 in B-Flat Minor  3:29
23 Op. 42/5 in C-Sharp Minor  3:06
Recorded February 25, 1953, in Concert at Carnegie Hall
24 Op. 8/12 in D-Sharp Minor  3:05
Recorded May 22, 1982 in Concert at Royal Festival Hall, London


Vladimir Horowitz - p


cooljazz said...

Encore une fois, merci beaucoup.

SlimStew said...

Thanks for posting this!

Melanchthon said...

glinka21 said...

One of my favorite Scarlatti discs. I remember purchasing it when it was first released, and it inspired me to attempt Scarlatti on the piano.

Needless to add, I really shouldn't have. But Horowitz was golden.

Guelda said...

Not too familiar with classical music, I decided to give it a try as Horowitz is quite famous. He is indeed a great player, playing with intensity but I guess this is due to Scriabin's music. I enjoyd the record but Scriabin is not amongst my favorite composers even if there are some nice moments of course.

Anyway thank you Mel for sharing this.

PS : Don't know why you mention Scarlatti Glinka21, as this is Scriabin's music played here.